OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County JILL LAVINE Sacramento County MARK LUNN Ventura County KAREN RHEA Kern County MICHAEL VU San Diego County **DAWN ABRAHAMSON*** Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member ADVISORY COUNCIL: **REBECCA MARTINEZ** Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County **ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:** JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area

Lassen County REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County CLAUDIO VALENZUELA

Bay Area Monterey County LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK: KAMMI FOOTE Invo County

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627 E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

May 27, 2015

The Honorable Kevin Mullin State Capitol, Room 3160 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Assembly Member Mullin:

AB 44 (Mullin) -SUPPORT

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials is pleased to advise you of our support for AB 44 which provides for consistent procedures for a recount of statewide offices if the margin between the presumed winner and loser falls within a certain percentage. The bill clarifies the process for requesting such a recount, for selecting the recount method, prohibits the results of partial recounts from changing an election outcome for statewide office, and authorizes the Secretary of State to order a statewide recount.

We appreciate your willingness to work with the Association to address the administrative concerns with the implementation of the provisions of this bill.

Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at <u>scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us</u> or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Monofurk

Scott O. Konopasek Corresponding Secretary California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

 Cc: Assembly Member Ridley-Thomas, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting
Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting
Daryl Thomas, Republican Caucus Consultant
Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.
Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee
Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee